Connect with us

Latest News - Media


Anele Dlamini and Danette Smith were crowned with national titles on Sunday after winning the ASA Marathon Championships incorporating the Durban City Marathon.

Dlamini won the men’s race, crossing the line at Kings Park Athletics Stadium in 2:22:23.

He was followed by Duanee Fortuin who secured the silver medal in 2:23:00. Sikhumbuzo Seme finished third, though he was well off the pace, taking bronze in 2:28:11.

While Raphael Segodi broke the tape first after an impressive gun-to-tape performance, he was disqualified for a licence rule violation as he did not have the front number on his vest.

“Someone tried to help me and they pulled off my licence by mistake,” Segodi said after the race, explaining he had fallen at the start.

Central Gauteng Athletics team management filed an appeal, but the decision was upheld.

Danette Smith took the national women’s title with a comfortable victory in 2:54:59.

Eunice Nhlapo completed the 42km race in 2:58:35 to take second place.

In other races overseas on Sunday, two SA athletes produced solid performances against quality line-ups.

Defending champion Lusapho April finished fifth at the Hannover Marathon in Germany, clocking 2:11:41.

Desmond Mokgobu, who won the SA title in 2014, was 12th at the Rotterdam Marathon in the Netherlands in a career best 2:10:51.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Latest News - Media